Natural Disaster Declaration

On 3 February 2022, Bland Shire was one of eight Local Government areas declared a Natural Disaster Area in relation to severe weather and flooding activity during January.

Bland, Temora, Albury, Goulburn-Mulwaree, Greater Hume, Griffith, Hilltops and Narrandera were classified as Category B disasters by the State Government (see table below).

On 15 February 2022 and following strong representations from Council,  Bland Shire was added to the list of natural disaster declared areas relating to severe weather and flooding in November 2021.

The November weather event was classified as a Category D disaster.

Under the declaration, a range of support measures are now available to impacted local landholders, businesses, groups and individuals.

To apply for a concessional loan or primary producer grant, contact the NSW Rural Assistance Authority on 1800 678 593 or visit
Information on disaster assistance can also be found on the Australian Government’s Disaster Assist website at